Month in Books: January 2016

Last year, I managed to get through 120 books. It was a push, but at the same time, it was a lot of fun! I really got to broaden my book horizons, and I’ve learned a lot. This year, I’ve decided to take things a bit slower. I’m getting into the more serious parts of my degree, and I’ve got myself heavily involved in all sorts of extra-curricular things at university. My target is to read 52 books this year – we’ll see how that goes!

Without further ado, here’s what I picked up in January.

Holiness – J.C. Ryle – 5 stars This is a non-fiction Christian book, originally published in the 1800’s. I read a slightly updated version, so it was very easy to read – which was helpful, because there’s a lot of really juicy theological things to get your teeth into! It took me a while to read, but I really liked it!

The Red House Mystery – A.A. Milne – 4 stars I was so excited when I found out that the creator of Winnie the Pooh also wrote novels! This mystery was charming and intelligent, and I thought the main characters were really very sweet. I enjoyed it!

Seriously…I’m Kidding – Ellen Degeneres – 4 stars A memoir by the famous American talk show host. I can remember laughing at this book – it was light and witty and quite enjoyable. What I can’t remember is exactly what it was about…

So that’s a run-down of the whole three books I read in January. What have you read this year? Have you read any of the books I mentioned?

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day!

~Dani

2 thoughts on “Month in Books: January 2016

  1. That is a nice range of books. I am stuck in trashy historical novels. I am single for the first time in four years and I think I those books fulfill my need to know romance exists. I ordered Seriously…I’m Kidding for my classroom library. A couple students really liked it, and I am looking forward to reading it this summer. Last year, I read 128 books and literally that is all I did in the summer! I think I am cutting back too. I learned a lot, but experienced massive weight gain from it! 😦

    • Ah – historical isn’t something I’ve really got into yet. Wow, that can’t be easy – I really hope you feel better soon.
      And 128 books is pretty amazing!! I know what you mean about the weight thing though – what I could really do with is some sort of mindless reading workout that lets me read and be relatively not-too-horrifically-unfit at the same time…
      Thanks for your comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

