Book Characters I’m Secretly in Love With

Hello lovely bloggers! It’s been a while – but I promise there are very valid, work-and-Chile related reasons for my absence. I hope everyone is doing well and I’m looking forward to catching up with everyone’s blogs! (Oh – and happy Easter!)

I wanted to kick off my return with a little something I think everyone – or at least, everyone who reads – can relate to: you know those literary characters that you aren’t exactly in love with…but if they walked out of those pages and proposed, you would totally say yes. Here’s my list – but please let me know I’m not alone! Who’d be on yours?

  1. Edmund Pevensie of The Chronicles of Narnia (C.S. Lewis)

I understand that this may seem strange – betraying your family for turkish delight is never really okay. In Edmund’s defense, he really grows up after ‘The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe’, and does end up quite a great human. Everyone loves a redemption story!

     2. Howl ‘Pendragon’ of Howl’s Moving Castle (Diana Wynne Jones)

I’ve just binge-read this trilogy, and I am a little bit obsessed. Howl is obviously very showy and spontaneous, but hey – never a dull moment!

    3. Will Herondale of The Infernal Devices (Cassandra Clare)

If you’ve read this trilogy, you’ll understand. If everyone could just be 19th-century gentlemen, that’d be great.

    4. Charles Bingley of Pride and Prejudice (Jane Austen)

I think I’ve said this before here, but I’m not a huge Darcy fan. I just think Bingley is super sweet, constant, and, overall, the drama-free option.

    5. Todd Hewitt of The Knife of Never Letting Go (Patrick Ness)

While his spelling’s not great, his heart is…? Sorry, that’s a bit too cheesy, even for me. Todd does a lot of growing through this trilogy too (by the way – if you’ve not read the Chaos Walking books, what are you doing? Go!) and the thoughtful, ethical person he grows up to be is…well, it’s cool.

So that’s my top five! Do you agree with any of mine, or does your list look completely different?

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day!

~Dani

5 thoughts on “Book Characters I’m Secretly in Love With

  1. Haha, I like someone who goes against the grain! Mine, on the other hand, aren’t so different.
    1. Kaladin (Stormblessed) from the Stormlight Archives.
    1.5 Adolin Kholin from the SA too. 🙂
    2. I just read Pride and Prejudice for the first time (!) and I was in love with Mr. Darcy the whole time. 🙂
    3. Hiccup from the How to Train Your Dragon series. (Though he’s the only aspect that got better in the movies, lol)
    4. And who can’t love Ender from Ender’s Game?
    Squid
    P.S. Thanks for following me! 😊

  2. I love this! One usually thinks Peeta or Tobias when you see boom character crushes. These are refreshingly unique. I like the idea of Edmund. He’s usually considered the black sheep of the Narnia series, but he DOES have redemptive qualities! Mr. Bingley! Yes, he’s awesome!
    Mr. Knightley is my favorite Austen hero. He’s wise and discerning like Mr. Darcy, but shows his love more openely than the other.
    Thanks for following my blog!

  3. Pingback: Month in Books: February/March 2016 | onlybooksandhorses

Leave a Reply

