Clockwork Princess and Poetry #3

Here’s the third part of my series of posts outlining all the poetry mentioned and quoted in Cassandra Clare’s Clockwork Princess. Onwards!

The Unquiet Grave Again, I couldn’t find the exact variation that Bridget sings, but this one’s close! I’m actually really enjoying reading the full versions of Bridget’s songs – they’re fantastic stories, and really accessible reading.

I’ll do as much for my true love

As any young man may;

I’ll sit and mourn all at her grave

For a twelvemonth and a day.

If the Past Year Were Offered Me Again – Augusta Lady Gregory This one’s nice and short! A really pretty love poem.

Ah! Could I bear those happy hours to miss

When love began, unthought of and unspoke

Riddles Wisely Expounded This is another of Bridget’s songs, and it belongs to a story where a knight tests his admirer’s wit. There are many variations, but here’s the one from the book:

“Oh, what is brighter than the light?

What is darker than the night?

What is keener than an axe?

What is softer than melting wax?

Truth is brighter than the light,

Falsehood darker than the night.

Revenge is keener than an axe,

And love is softer than melting wax.

Tamerlane – Edgar Allan Poe This one’s an epic poem, which means it’s a bit long. Lovely, though!

I have no words – alas! – to tell

The loveliness of loving well!

Barbara Allen Here’s another ballad that isn’t exactly the same as the one quoted in the novel, but bears some similarity.

O mother, mother, make my bed

O make it saft and narrow:

My love has died for me today,

I’ll die for him tomorrow.

And that’s all for today!

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day!

~Dani

One thought on “Clockwork Princess and Poetry #3

Leave a Reply

