Read the World: Australia

This Oceanian monster of a country is the sixth largest country in the world. It was inhabited for at least 40,000 years by indigenous tribes, and then Britain happened, and Australia changed forever. It’s a really interesting history, and I love reading books set in this intriguing country. Here are seven books I’ve enjoyed that are set in Australia!

The Rosie Project and the Rosie Effect – Graeme Simsion

The Rosie ProjectThe Rosie effect

This contemporary romance duology is really quirky and funny – it’s the story of Don Tillman (who I believe has Asperger’s?) and his quest to find the perfect romantic partner. I think it’s really refreshing to read a book like this that’s a) not about perfect protagonists, and b) not set in America.

I Am the Messenger – Markus Zusak

I Am the Messenger

This one’s also a contemporary, and it follows the story of an underage taxi driver who is forced to learn the value of selflessness in a creative way…it sounds so lame when I try and explain it! Here’s a post I wrote about it when it was a bit fresher in my memory. This is one of my favourite books though!

Snakehead – Anthony Horowitz

Snakehead

I used to be a huge fan of the Alex Rider series! It’s a ‘middle-grade’ spy series, and I thought it was pretty great. It’s at about this point in the series that things get a little bit maturer. I included it on this list because how many chances do you get to read about the Australian Secret Service? It’s cool!

Wildfire – Chris Ryan

Wildfire

This is a young adult contemporary action novel, and it’s the second book in the ‘Code Red’ series. Again, I was obsessed with these books! In this book, our protagonist is holidaying in Australia when…well, I think it’s self explanatory. It’s such an exciting story, and what I love about this series is that you believe every word (at least, I did.)

Red Centre – Chris Ryan

Red Centre

Why, yes, I did include two Chris Ryan books. I really like his young adult stuff! This book is from another series. called Alpha Force. The series is about a team of five youths who tour the world, fighting injustice. It sounds a little out-there, but you need to give it a chance! This one’s about terrorism in Australia, and I think it also involves fire.

Alone on a Wide, Wide Sea – Michael Morpurgo

Alone on a Wide Wide Sea

This is the only book I’ve read that even touches on Australia’s history. The protagonist is a little English boy who’s shipped off to Australia after World War Two. It tells about his new life in Australia, and how he rises above the situation. This isn’t my favourite Morpurgo book, but it is pretty good!

And that’s all the books I’ve read set in Australia. Have you read any of them? Can you recommend me some more?

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day!

~Dani

3 thoughts on “Read the World: Australia

Leave a Reply

