Clockwork Princess and Poetry #2

Here’s the second instalment of this little series: I’m going through Cassandra Clare’s ‘Clockwork Princess’ and picking out all the lovely poetry.

Great Expectations – Charles Dickens I’m fully aware that this isn’t a poem, but I just couldn’t miss out this line!

“Estella, to the last hour of my life, you cannot choose but remain part of my character, part of the little good in me, part of the evil.”

Troilus and Cressida – William Shakespeare Again, not a poem, but a kind of poetry nonetheless.

For to be wise and love

Exceeds man’s might.

Laus Veneris – Algernon Charles Swinburne This is a very long and very creepy poem.

For til the thunder in the trumpet be,

Soul may divide from body, but not we

One from another; I hold thee with my hand,

I let mine eyes have all their will of thee

Paradise Lost – John Milton This poem crops up so much throughout the books! It’s a phenomenally lengthy poetic retelling of the creation and the fall, and I really enjoy reading it in small doses.

Abashed the Devil stood,

And felt how awful goodness is.

In Memoriam A.H.H. – Lord Alfred Tennyson This poem has already been quoted, but I like it a lot! Here’s another excerpt:

Let Love clasp Grief lest both be drown’d,

Let darkness keep her raven gloss:

Ah, sweeter to be drunk with loss,

To dance with death, to beat the ground.

And that’s all for this post! What do you think of Cassandra Clare’s taste in poetry? Is this the sort of thing you would normally read?

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day!

~Dani

Leave a Reply

