Clockwork Princess and Poetry #1

If you’ve been around for a while, you may remember that time I trawled through Clockwork Angel (Cassandra Clare) and collected all the poetry into a post…or five. It took a while, but it was fun! Or, at least, I thought it was fun. So we’re doing it again! I know that Clockwork Prince would be the next logical choice, but I can’t find it, so we’re moving on.

In Memoriam A.H.H. – Alfred Lord Tennyson I love this poem! Cassandra quotes so much Tennyson, and I honestly can’t blame her. This poem is really long, but lovely.

We have but faith: we cannot know;
For knowledge is of things we see
And yet we trust it comes from thee,
A beam in darkness: let it grow.

British Folk Rhyme This is a cute little traditional poem! I like how it sounds when you read it out loud.

Marry on Monday for health,

Tuesday for wealth,

Wednesday the best day of all,

Thursday for crosses,

Friday for losses, and

Saturday for no luck at all.

The Conqueror Worm – Edgar Allan Poe I think this is a great poem! It’s dark and weird and creepy, but then again it is Poe.

Sit in a theatre, to see
   A play of hopes and fears,
While the orchestra breathes fitfully   
   The music of the spheres.
Carrion Comfort – Gerard Manley Hopkins I find this poem so unsettling, but it’s a really interesting one. Worth a read!
Not, I’ll not, carrion comfort, Despair, not feast on thee;
Not untwist — slack they may be — these last strands of man
In me ór, most weary, cry I can no more. I can;
Can something, hope, wish day come, not choose not to be.
The Kitchie Boy This is a very old, traditional ballad. I couldn’t find the exact version that Bridget sings in the book; there are a lot of variations out there! This one is very similar, though, and it’s a lovely story!
She’s far awa frae me, lady
She’s far awa frae me
That has my heart a-keeping fast,
And my love still she’ll be.
And that’s all for now! Which poem is your favourite?
Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day!
~Dani
Leave a Reply

