City of Ashes and Poetry

I’ve written a lot of posts about Cassandra Clare’s taste in poetry before, but it’s been a while! Today I’m going through the second book in her ‘The Mortal Instruments’ series – City of Ashes – and outlining all the wonderful poetry she uses. Enjoy!

This Bitter Language – Elka Cloke This is a beautiful poem, and belongs to a collection of the same title.

There are languages
of which you are the blueprints
and as we speak them
the city rises.

Night of Hell (from A Season in Hell) – Arthur Rimbaud I don’t think this is technically a poem, but it does read a lot like poetry. It’s a beautifully written piece, but very dark and disturbing.

Ah! To return to life! To stare at our deformities. And this poison, this eternally accursed embrace! My weakness, and the world’s cruelty! My God, have pity, hide me, I can’t control myself at all! – I am hidden, and I am not.

Inferno – Dante I think Clare quotes this poem a lot, and no wonder! It’s so fitting to the series.

Before me things created were none, save things

eternal, and eternal I endure.

All hope abandon, ye who enter here.

Dies Irae – Abraham Coles This is one of those religious poems that looks long, but is actually fairly quick to read and understand if you have at least a basic understanding of the Bible.

Day of tears and late repentance,
Man shall rise to hear his sentence:
Him, the child of guilt and error,
Spare, Lord, in that hour of terror!

And that’s all the poetry quoted in City of Ashes! Which one’s your favourite?

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day!

~Dani

Leave a Reply

