Month in Books: July 2015

Here’s what I read in July!

Under the Never Sky – Veronica Rossi – 4 stars This is a Young Adult romance sci-fi thing, and although it didn’t blow me away, I did quite enjoy it! I found it refreshingly different to many other books in this genre.

The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane – Kate DiCamillo – 5 stars This is the kind of book that makes me think I should just read children’s literature exclusively, all the time. It’s an incredibly beautiful story about loss, and learning to love again. I recommend this to any human ever.

The Girl on the Train – Paula Hawkins – 4 stars This book has had so much hype! While I don’t think it’s the most amazing book ever, I did really enjoy (is that the right word?) it – I was shocked by the resolution of the mystery, and was gripped by the story. Also, I thought the writing was fantastic.

They Do it With Mirrors – Agatha Christie – 4 stars What would a monthly wrap-up be without at least one Agatha Christie novel? This one’s a Miss Marple mystery, and it was as fabulous as is to be expected.

Sleepyhead – Mark Billingham – 4 stars This is the first book in a series following a detective called Tom Thorne. At first I thought it was going to be another, slightly unoriginal police mystery, but it got really dark really fast. I especially liked how unreliable the narrator was – it felt like a really fresh take on a well-trampled literary trope.

Wonder – R.J. Palacio – 5 stars I HAVE SO MUCH LOVE FOR THIS BOOK. You don’t even need to know what it’s about, just read it and love it.

Burning Bright – Tracy Chevalier – 3 stars I was staying at a guest house in Uganda at this point, and when I saw they had a historical novel dealing with the life of William Blake, I knew I had to read it. It was a really clever and insightful story, although something about it felt a little half-baked. I do have to give so many brownie points for incredibly thorough research, though.

The Viking – Marti Talbott – 2 stars A while ago, I wrote this post about how much I wanted to read about Vikings. This book sounded perfect: a Viking boy stranded in Scotland, having adventures. And the thing is, it’s such a promising idea for a story! So much was right about this, but the realisation of all the historical research and pro story-plotting fell flat because of the amateurish writing. I know this is horrible to say, but it felt a bit like I was reading a novel plan. rather than an actual novel. There was no meat to it!

Crazy Love: Overwhelmed by a Relentless God – Francis Chan – 5 stars This is a short non-fiction book that discusses God’s love for humanity. It’s clear, accessible and practical, and although it obviously can’t cover everything, I thought it was a great book!

That’s all I read in July! If you’ve read any of these books, or plan to, let me know what you thought!

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day.

~Dani

Leave a Reply

