Month in Books: May 2015

Here’s what I read in May!

Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell – 4 stars I liked it! This is a YA contemporary romance, about a – you guessed it – fangirl adjusting to university (college, if you’re American) life. I’d heard so much about it beforehand that it didn’t quite live up to my expectations, but it was very sweet and enjoyable nonetheless.

Reached – Ally Condie – 2 stars This is the third book in the ‘Matched’ series. It’s a YA dystopian romance, and there’s this controlling society but it’s ok because this perfect teenage couple are fighting the system, but then there’s this love triangle…sorry what? That sounds like every other book ever? You’re not wrong. I think I should have just left it; ‘Matched’ was the only book of this series that I actually liked.

Nimona – Noelle Stevenson – 5 stars This is a graphic novel, and it is my new favourite thing. I believe it was adapted from a really popular web comic, and guys – it’s SO GOOD. It’s sweet and touching and quirky, and it made me laugh so much. I LOVE this story (and may or may not have re-read it twice since May)

Outlander – Diana Gabaldon – 3 stars I’d heard a lot about this one too! It’s a historical romance novel…I think? There’s this whole time travel thing going on, which is quite cool, but in the end the book was so long I kind of stopped caring. It is set in Scotland though, which is where I’m from!

I have no idea why there are only four books in this list. Anyway, if you’ve read any of these books, I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day.

~Dani

Leave a Reply

