Review: The Heir – Kiera Cass

The Heir – Keira Cass – 4 stars

The Heir

This book is the fourth in a series called the Selection, and I think it’s time for me to accept that these books don’t bother me as much as I think they do. The characters are clumsy and clear-cut, the plot is slow and the politics are juvenile….but I CAN’T STOP READING THEM.

I liked this book more than the earlier three – partly because the narrator is really not likable. I know that sounds weird, but hear me out – it is the most annoying thing in the world when the main character is obviously someone the writer has fallen madly in love with, and even when they’re flawed, they can do no wrong (*cough* America Singer). This Princess is spoiled and misguided and although it’s really obvious, I don’t think it’s over-done. This character has space to grow in the books to come, and that’s cool.

I also loved the female-led Selection, mostly for how awkward it is, and how the dynamics change so drastically from Maxon’s one. My favourite thing, though, was seeing America and Maxon together. 20 years later, they’re still cute! I also liked seeing people from the books all grown up, and the living arrangements in the Palace – it’s all very satisfying to know that people are still friends, and still devoted to each other.

Some of the issues that Princess Eadlyn faced in this book did seem, from the reader’s point of view, easily resolved, but I actually really liked that she wasn’t on the ball. It was honestly pretty true to life.

I feel like I always complain about the simplicity and occasional laziness in the writing, but I did sense an improvement with this book. I’m happy to accept that I’m possibly not the target demographic.

I have two major qualms with this book: 1) WHY DIDN’T IT FINISH? just marry Kyle already, I don’t need to be forced to read another book. 2) Eadlyn sounds a little bit like a witch’s name, and I kind of hate it.

That said, I did give this book four stars. Keira Cass, what is your secret?

If you’ve read this book too, or plan to, I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day!

~Dani

One thought on “Review: The Heir – Kiera Cass

  1. Pingback: Month in Books: August 2015 | onlybooksandhorses

Leave a Reply

