I Saw the Paper Towns Movie!

Paper Towns (Movie)I read Paper Towns (John Green) roughly…last Thursday, and it didn’t exactly blow me away. A lot of people say that John Green’s characters are really similar, and I tend to agree. The sad thing is that the books have such great stories, cute humour and interesting philosophies, and I find that the repetitive characters sap my enjoyment of them.

The movies are another matter. I LOVE the John Green movie adaptations. They pick up on the overall feeling of the book, and then they bring something new to it. I loved The Fault in Our Stars movie, but I think I love Paper Towns more.

The characters look wildly different to how I imagined them (especially Ben and Quentin), but that didn’t bother me at all. There were a lot of discrepancies with the book – for example, Radar wearing glasses rather than contacts, but honestly? I really didn’t care. I didn’t think the book was good enough to warrant an exact, totally ‘accurate’ film adaptation. Personally, I loved every single actor in this movie. Every. Single. One. That’s kind of a big deal.

If I had to pick a favourite thing about this movie, I think it would be Nat Wolff. I just love what he brought to the character – the constant, reluctant smile when he’s with Margo is the cutest thing in the world, and it’s just so Quentin. You nailed it, Nat.

The other thing that warmed my heart was the sort of three-way bromance between Radar, Ben and Quentin. It looked so natural on screen, I like to imagine that the actors are besties off-set as well. The part when they all start singing because they’re scared? SO CUTE.

There were some fairly major changes in the movie, for example the fact that Angela (Radar’s girlfriend) gets to join in on the road trip. It’s nice, and I don’t mind it – she and Radar are a cute couple – but I wasn’t sure how much it added to the story.

I did approve of the film’s pacing of Lacey and Ben’s relationship though; I found it much more believable, and in the end, much sweeter. Thumbs up, film director people.

Overall, this film made me like the story more. The actors brought something new to the characters, and while I’m 99% sure I won’t be reading the book again, I can now actually distinguish between these people and every other character he’s ever written. It’s given me happy memories.

I’m not really a movie reviewer because I know nothing and am too easily pleased, but if I was going to rate this, it would be a five star sort of deal. I really liked it.

If you’ve seen the movie too, I’d love to hear your thoughts! How did it compare to the book? What did you think of the casting choices?

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day!

~Dani

One thought on “I Saw the Paper Towns Movie!

  1. Pingback: Month in Books: August 2015 | onlybooksandhorses

Leave a Reply

