Review: 75 Uplifting Poems for Christians – AJ Barlow

75 Uplifting Poems for Christians – AJ Barlow – 5 stars

75 Uplifting Poems for Christians

I picked up this book after stumbling upon AJ Barlow’s blog, and I’m so glad I did! This book is exactly what the title would suggest it is: a little book packed full of really candid, thoughtful, and encouraging poetry.

One of the things I loved about this collection was its accessibility: there were no complex, high level theological words or concepts, and there was no need for them. Every poem is linguistically easy to understand, and yet speaks about some really profound truths.

Some of the poems were a bit Blake-esque; with simple, trotting rhythms and clear, exact rhymes, and I actually really enjoyed that. These are the sort of rhymes that are easy to learn by heart, so you can carry them with you wherever you go. There were one or two poems whose rhythm tripped me up a bit, but that’s probably just my inferior poetry-reading skills.

I think what got me the most was the unabashed positivity of the book as a whole. I loved that although difficult and sad issues were discussed, there was always this profound hopefulness, and a nod towards the future and the God who’s planned it.

I gave this book five stars because I genuinely thought it was lovely, and I am planning on going back for a re-read.

If you’re interested in sampling some of this poetry, you can read a couple of poems on the writer’s blog – click here! And if you’ve read this book, or would like to, I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day.

~Dani

One thought on “Review: 75 Uplifting Poems for Christians – AJ Barlow

  1. Pingback: Month in Books: August 2015 | onlybooksandhorses

Leave a Reply

