Month in Books: April 2015

Fair warning: I was finishing off my Creative Writing portfolio in April, so there’s going to be a lot of stuff about writing. Sorry but also kind of not sorry.

How to Write your First Novel – Sophie King – 4 stars It is what you think it is. It’s quite a light read with some good advice – nothing too earth-shattering, but I’m glad I picked it up nonetheless.

Servant Leadership for Slow Learners – J. David Lundy – 5 stars I loved this book! It’s another non-fiction thing, talking about leadership in a Christian context. It’s not quite as sassy as the title might suggest, but it is challenging.

How I Found the Write Path – Carrie Butler – 4 stars I love this idea – it’s a compilation of letters from authors to their younger selves, giving advice on writing, publishing and just the chaos of being a creative person. It’s lovely and inspiring – worth a read if you’re interested in writing yourself! Also, dat pun.

The Wisdom of C.S. Lewis – Brian Sibley – 5 stars This is basically a tiny hardback book full of illustrated C.S. Lewis quotes. I love it.

How to Write Better Essays – Bryan Greetham – 4 stars Again…this is exactly what you think it is. There’s a lot of good advice in this, but I happen to passionately despise writing conventional essay plans, so I took the whole thing a bit bitterly. Still, 4 stars.

Akarnae – Lynette Noni – 4 stars I’ve actually been following this lady’s blog for a while, so when I saw that her book had come out, I knew I wanted to give it a try! I was not disappointed. This is a young adult fantasy novel, and it’s just wonderful. I had so much fun reading it! I left it a bit long to write a review though, so I’ll be giving it another read and reporting back 😛

Just Write: The Virgin Guide to Telling Your Story – Gabrielle Mander – 3 stars I kind of disliked this book, just for the heavy reliance on genre fiction. To paraphrase an exact quote: “if you don’t write in a clear cut genre no-one will read your stuff”. Well, excuse you. I happen to hate categories like that in literature: let your story breathe! (Other than that, this book was quite alright)

Writing: A User’s Manual – David Hewson – 3 stars More writing stuff. If I’m honest, I don’t really remember anything about this one, but past Dani gave it three stars, so…there you go.

True Worship – Vaughan Roberts – 5 stars I read so much non fiction this month! This book is a little gem about…er…true worship. Do you have to go to church to worship? (Clue: nope)

A Caribbean Mystery – Agatha Christie – 5 stars I think by this point, I was all non-fictioned out, so returned to my trusty Agatha Christie. It’s a Miss Marple story, and I freaking love that little old lady.

The Silver Chair – C.S. Lewis – 5 stars This is usually considered the fourth book in the Narnia series, and it’s my absolute favourite (after The Horse and His Boy. So, like, second favourite). Children’s fantasy can be a bit touch and go, but this series is the actual best.

Yes Please – Amy Poehler – 4 stars I never read celebrity autobiographies, so this was new to me! I loved the tone of the book, and it made me chuckle a lot. It was more than just a comedy thing though; I felt like Ms. Poehler put a lot of herself into the book, and it was really touching.

The Virgin Suicides – Jeffrey Eugenides – 3 stars I’d heard from a lot of people that this book was really good, and I could appreciate that it was well-written…but mostly I thought it was creepy. Everyone is a stalker, please stop.

V for Vendetta – Alan Moore – 4 stars This is a British Dystopian thing, and it’s a real downer. Good writing though, so four stars. Even if it is also a bit creepy.

Chosen – Ted Dekker – 3 stars If you’ve been around for a while, you know that I have a lot of love for Ted Dekker. This is one of his children’s/YA fantasy novels, and it was a good strong…average. I like his adult stuff better, sorry!

Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? – Edward Albee – 4 stars A friend recommended this to me after I complained about not understanding Postmodernist literature, and I have to admit: it’s a pretty fantastic play. If a little sad.

And (finally!) that’s the end of what I read in April. Sorry it was a kind of boring month – I promise May got more interesting! If you’ve read any of the books I mentioned, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day!

~Dani

Leave a Reply

