My Top 5 Male Literary Protagonists

As a female reader, I find it so easy to read books mostly from a female perspective. I don’t know why this is – are there more female POV books out there now? Am I just drawn to characters who are easier for me to understand? Either way, today I’m going to be showing some appreciation for my favourite men of modern literature.

1. Sherlock Holmes ([basically any book by] Sir Arthur Conan Doyle) If you don’t think he is the best thing to grace the world of crime fiction then you are wrong. I love the books, love the movie, love the TV series. Sherlock Holmes is basically a boss.

2. Bilbo Baggins (The Hobbit – JRR Tolkein) I have so much love for Bilbo! He is the cutest, bumbliest, bravest little hobbit ever, and I think he deserves to be on this list. Even though he’s not technically a man.

3. Huckleberry Finn (The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn – Mark Twain) I only recently read this book, and I’m kicking myself for not having known about Huck Finn before. He is the sweetest and funniest little narrator ever, and I love his brain. You are a hero, young sir.

4. Allan Karlsson (The Hundred-year-old Man who Climbed out of the Window and Disappeared – Jonas Jonasson) I couldn’t make this list without Allan! He is my favourite 100 year old book character – he never fails to make me laugh.

5. Todd Hewitt (The Chaos Walking series – Patrick Ness) I think Todd is one of the main reasons I adore this series – I love his narrative voice, and I love the sweet, naive honesty of his character. You’re cool, Todd.

So those were my picks! Did I forget someone really obvious? Which male protagonists would be on your list?

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day!

~Dani

2 thoughts on “My Top 5 Male Literary Protagonists

Leave a Reply

