Month in Books: March 2015

Here’s what I read in March!

The Road – Cormac McCarthy – 3 stars I’ve heard a lot about this book: it’s an award-winning adult dystopian novel. I found it severely lacking in hopefulness, and slightly forgettable. Maybe I read too much dystopian fiction? Or did I miss something important?

The Andromeda Strain – Michael Crichton – 4 stars Michael Crichton is cool! This book is almost as good as Jurassic Park (which is my all-time fabourite Crichton book in the world): it’s got a cool science-y premise to do with killer viruses that I very nearly understood, and it was all fantastic until a slightly anti-climatic ending. Still cool, though.

Twice-Told Tales: The Psychological Use of Fairy Tales – Hans Dieckmann – 4 stars This one is a non-fiction thing I found in my university’s library, and it’s basically this literary critic/pyschologist talking about the hidden, base meanings of fairy tales (mostly sex.) Some interesting stuff, and also it’s quite short.

Mr Gum and the Goblins – Andy Stanton – 5 stars There is such a thing as ‘too academic’, and the only cure is reading some really really good quality children’s fiction. Preferably illustrated by David Tazzyman, partly because of that beautiful name, and partly because his art is cool. I freaking love the Mr Gum series – I cry laughing every time.

An Abundance of Katherines – John Green – 5 stars If you’ve read any John Green books, you can probably guess what this one’s about (awkward teenage boy in love with unattainable teenage girl – and a road trip). In all fairness though, this might be my favourite of his books just because it doesn’t try too hard to be really deep and powerful. Also it’s quite funny.

And…that’s actually all I read in March. Let me know if you’ve read – or are interested in reading – any of the books I mentioned!

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day!

~Dani

Leave a Reply

