Month in Books: February 2015

I was just looking back over my posts and realised…I’m a couple months (well…7) out of date with these! Please bear with while I catch up – I promise I have read books since January! 😛

The Colour of Magic – Terry Pratchett – 2 stars I’ve not managed to really get into any Terry Pratchett books I’ve tried – kudos to this one for being the first I’ve finished! There’s a lot of weird, slightly non-sensical stuff going on, and while it’s quite a fun book, I couldn’t really understand the point. Sorry!

The Da Vinci Code – Dan Brown – 2.5 stars I wrote a review here! It’s a kind of thriller/art/history sort of novel, and…well, it’s alright.

Sharp Objects – Gillian Flynn – 4 stars Click here for my review. This is the author of Gone Girl, so I kind of new to expect something dark and psychological…having said that, nothing could really have prepared me for this. So intense, so disturbing, and so beautifully written. I can’t decide whether I loved it or despised it.

The Crane Wife – Patrick Ness – 3 stars I love Patrick Ness! I had such high hopes for this book, and although it was pretty magical, it wasn’t quite the work of art I was expecting.

World War Z – Max Brooks – 3 stars This is a really interesting concept! It narrates a zombie apocalypse situation by allowing a different person to relate their story each ‘chapter’. It feels fairly realistic, but – honestly – I also found it a little dry. It wasn’t even particularly scary.

The One – Keira Cass – 3 stars This is the third and final book in the ‘Selection’ trilogy. After each book, I’ve complained about how flawed and frustrating I’ve found it…and then read the next one because I had to know what happened. I guess she must be doing something right!

We Were Liars – E. E. Lockhart – 5 stars I loved this book! It’s a beautifully written contemporary that is exciting and heart-breaking. Five stars, you’re welcome.

Getting into Poetry: A Readers’ and Writers’ Guide to the Poetry Scene – Paul Hyland – 4 stars A self-explanatory title to a non-fiction book that makes me look like a horrifically boring person. It’s cool, ok?

North and South – Elizabeth Gaskell – 4 stars I had to read this novel for my university course, and I’m kind of sad about that – I think I’d have liked it a lot more if I’d been able to read it for fun. It’s an industrial novel with cute romance and a good bit of Victorian social commentary. All good stuff.

Paris – e. e. cummings – 5 stars I loved this book! It’s a collection of poetry and short writings about Paris. My version is bilingual, so on one page there’ll be the English, and on the opposite one the (original?) French. It did confuse me as to what the point of that was, but it’s quite nice for people who think they can speak French but aren’t as good as they thought (i.e., me)

So that was February! Sorry for the kind of vague descriptions; I’m having to remember back a fair way! Let me know if you’ve read/enjoyed any of these books!

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day!

~Dani

2 thoughts on “Month in Books: February 2015

  1. I’m sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy Terry Pratchett’s book! He’s one of my favourite authors, but it took me a long time to get into him; his humour was so confusing and crazy at first that I just didn’t get it. The Colour of Magic isn’t the best of his books, either; he really hits his stride around the 10th Discworld book. I really love the books about the witches, and Wyrd Sisters is very interesting if you like Shakespeare. If you’re interested in reading some more, that would be one of the ones I’d recommend. 🙂

    North and South is also a great book, but I agree that reading it in class can be a bit off-putting. For me, it was one of those books that grew on me slowly, too.

    • Haha oh no! Don’t think I can make it through ten more Discworlds >.< I will check out Wyrd Sisters though, thanks for the recommendation!
      Yeah – I'm planning on going back to North and South in a couple years' time, and I'm sure I'll appreciate it more 🙂

Leave a Reply

