C is for Christian Fiction

I feel like the label ‘Christian Fiction’ can be a bit off-putting. Admittedly, I’ve read my fair share of this genre that I found severely lacking, but there is also a great deal of really really good content out there!

This is going to be My Guide to the Christian Novel (for Newbies)!

‘Christian fiction’ is a really broad title – like ‘classic’, ‘YA’ or ‘Adult’, you’re inevitably going to find a whole spectrum of sub-genres to explore, and by extension, there’s every chance you’ll find something you enjoy!

As with every genre, there’s going to be stuff you hate, and stuff you can’t put down, but I’m going to go ahead an recommend a few titles that I really loved.

The Chronicles of Narnia – C.S. Lewis Duh. I feel like this series makes its way onto every list I’ve ever made, but I don’t care. For those of you yet to read these books, it’s a timeless children’s fantasy series of seven short novels, with a little bit of allegory and a lot of awesome. Go.

Obsessed – Ted Dekker Do you like adult thriller novels about history and finding out about your family roots and adventure? Great, you can just go grab this. Right now.

The Wormling Series – Jerry B Jenkins and Chris Fabry This is another fantasy series, slightly allegorical and really beautifully narrated. I’d put these more in the YA section than children’s just because of length and a few scarier scenes. I’ve read all the books multiple times, and really loved them!

The Pilgrim’s Progress – John Bunyan This is a bit of a classic. Written during Bunyan’s spell in prison, this book is an allegory of the spiritual journey of a Christian. There’s monsters and kidnapping and battles and stuff, so it pretty much caters for you whatever you’re into. Worth a read!

The Dopple Ganger Chronicles – G.P. Taylor I can’t get enough of this series! They’re ingenious combinations of the graphic novel, conventional prose and beautiful typography (coined ‘illustra-novellas’, if you were interested). I love the art, and the stories…just everything. there are three books at the moment, and I’ve given all of them five stars so far.

That’s all from me! There’s so much variety out there in this genre, and I guess I just wanted to encourage you to explore.

Also, any recommendations you can leave me will be much appreciated!

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day.

~Dani

One thought on “C is for Christian Fiction

Leave a Reply

