Month in Books: January 2015

It’s my first monthly wrap-up this year! Yey!

Death on the Nile – Agatha Christie – 5 stars I’ve had a little Agatha Christies spree, and am loving these stories about Hercule Poirot. I think this little moustached Belgian is my favourite detective ever – I love that he’s calculating and crazily intelligent, but still very much in tune with his compassionate and human side. This story is – surprise, surprise – set in Egypt, and I loved being transported into the close world of a planned holiday. It’s the perfect (if that’s the right word?) setting for a murder mystery.

The Horse and His Boy – C.S. Lewis – 5 stars My favourite book from my favourite series! I’m sure most of you are familiar with the children’s fantasy work of genius that is the Chronicles of Narnia, so just take this as a recommendation to get re-reading. I wrote a post about my love for this book here!

Hamlet – William Shakespeare – 4 stars I had to read this for my Literature course, and while I did enjoy it, it’s not my favourite Shakespeare play. An over-quoted and somewhat depressing historical tale, Hamlet is a hugely ambiguous and thought-provoking work of literature that we could probably all argue about until the end of time.

P.S. I Love You – Cecelia Ahern – 4 stars I’d heard so much about this book! I started watching the movie, but didn’t get very far – thankfully I liked the book a lot more! It’s cute and surprising, teary and really heart-warming. I’m glad I found the time to read this!

The Thief of Always – Clive Barker – 2 stars I don’t know why I picked this up. The cover’s ugly and the premise isn’t exactly inspiring, so I guess it was more of a procrastination read. It was okay – just very obscure and kind of emotionally detached.

Losing It All – Marsha Cornelius – 4 stars Find my review here! An adult fiction novel dealing with family, poverty, homelessness, and – as cheesey as it may sound – redemption. I loved this story so much!

The Rosie Effect – Graeme Simsion – 4 stars I reviewed this here! The sequel to ‘The Rosie Project’, this book is a strong continuation of a sweet and slightly awkward story. I had mixed feelings about it, but the ending was lovely.

Murder in the Mews – Agatha Christie – 3 stars Another Poirot novel! This is a particularly clever mystery, so I’m not quite sure why I didn’t enjoy it as much as I did the other Poirot books I read. Maybe it was the lack of exotic location?

The Magician’s Nephew – C.S. Lewis – 5 stars After having a fantastic time re-reading The Horse and His Boy, I just needed more Narnia! The first book in the series, The Magician’s Nephew is just fantastic and you should all read it.

If I Stay – Gayle Forman – 5 stars I’d heard so many good things about this book, and about Gayle Forman, so I was a little worried about over-hype. The book was pretty much what I expected, but I did enjoy it and it did get me emotionally involved. I really don’t think it needs the sequel though!

You Are Special – Max Lucado – 5 stars This is one of my childhood reads! It’s a beautifully illustrated allegorical children’s story, about individual worth and how the opinions of others are pretty inconsequential. It’s a great book for people of all ages, and I loved re-living the experience.

That’s all for this month! What were your favourite reads for January? Have you read any of the books I mentioned?

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day!

~Dani

8 thoughts on “Month in Books: January 2015

  1. Wow, you read a lot! Congrats! I love Agatha Christie as well, and I agree with your hesitation about Murder in the Mews, I don’t think it’s necessarily the lack of exotic location that makes this one of her lesser stories. I recommend ‘The Murder of Rodger Ackroyd’ or ‘A Murder is Announced’ if you would like to try a good AC detective set in England. Then again, I always prefer novels over short stories, so maybe I’m biased too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

