A is for Atwood

I see a lot of bloggers and vloggers going for the whole ‘A-Z of my bookshelf’ thing, and I felt like it was a pretty cool idea! I’m taking up my version of the challenge – basically, I’m going to write 26 posts (not necessarily consecutively), one for each letter of the alphabet, and talk about a book, author or theme represented. Yeah…all will become clear.

Today is day one, so for ‘A’ I’ve chosen Margaret Atwood!

Margaret Atwood

Margaret Atwood is a Canadian writer, born on 18 November 1939. In case you were interested.

I was first introduced to this lovely lady in my A Level English class – we got to study her dystopian novel, ‘The Handmaid’s Tale’, and although it deals with difficult themes, I really enjoyed diving deeper into Atwood’s gorgeous writing.

While this lady started her writing career in poetry, she has since moved onto a wider variety of projects including novels, essays, and even a libretto for an opera! She’s also credited with the invention of the LongPen, which allows the author to sign books and chat with fans without actually being present.

Atwood’s father was an entomologist, which means he studied insects. Due to this heritage, Margaret, reportedly, has nothing against eating insects, and is particularly partial to roasted great locusts. Each to their own, I guess.

Another fun thing to remember is that her first book signing was in a shop…in the men’s sock and underwear department.

We nearing the end of things I have to say about this author, but let’s end up with this: Margaret Atwood is the first fiction writer ever to be place on Canada’s Walk of Fame. You go, girl!

What’s your favourite Margaret Atwood book?

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day!

~Dani

Leave a Reply

