Review: The Rosie Effect by Graeme Simsion

The Rosie Effect – Graeme Simsion – 4 stars

The Rosie effect

Thank you so much to NetGalley and Penguin Books for letting me have a copy!

This is the sequel to ‘The Rosie Project’, a lovely little Australian contemporary romance that – I thought – didn’t really need a sequel. As I actually own a signed copy of the first book, however, I felt invested enough to at least give the second book a chance. I’m so glad I did!

The premise of the story remains relatively simple: painfully rational and logical, Don Tillman is a somewhat socially inept scientist who finds himself falling for headstrong and independant med-student Rosie Jarman. What happens in this book is a whole load of development both in the characters and in their situation, and it’s interesting to see how the unconventional protagonists cope.

I love the clipped and naive tone of Don’s narrative; the scientific and generally unemotional view makes for a really quirky read, although there were points when the abundance of technical jargon just bored me.

It did take me a while to get through the book, and I think this is down to the fact that I’m such an emotional reader, and Don isn’t someone I can relate to easily. He’s funny and sweet, but I struggled to connect with the character until nearer the end of the book.

Speaking of the ending, the final scenes were so fantastic that they turned the book around for me; I put it down grinning and feeling really excited for the characters.

The thing about these books is, I do think they’re really good. I think Simsion has taken on this challenge of writing from an unconventional perspective, and making it accessible to the general public, and he’s done it well. That said, I don’t think they could ever be counted among my favourite contemporaries, just because it’s a lot more work to fit yourself as the reader into the mindset of the protagonist.

I thought this book was a strong sequel, and I enjoyed it, but…I kind of hope there won’t be anymore in this series. I’d love to read more Graeme Simsion, just in a different context.

If you’ve read this too, or plan to, I’d love to hear what you thought!

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day.

~Dani

3 thoughts on “Review: The Rosie Effect by Graeme Simsion

  1. Pingback: Month in Books: January 2015 | onlybooksandhorses

Leave a Reply

