Songs For Stories: The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken

I love The Darkest Minds – it’s a YA Dystopian trilogy, and I can’t wait to read the third book!

In my explorations of the musical world (well…iTunes), I’ve come across a few songs that I think fit perfectly with this story, and I wanted to share them today. I thought it would be a cool way to look at the themes in the book in a different way, but also to find some music we might not normally listen to.

If you’ve not read the second book and would like to avoid vague and unspecific spoilers, I’d advise you to steer clear of the bits I write. You can still listen to the songs, though!

People Like Us – Kelly Clarkson

People like us, we’ve got to stick together / Keep your head up; nothing lasts forever / Here’s to the damned, to the lost and forgotten – it’s hard to get high when you’re living on the bottom.

I love how powerful the music is, but also those lyrics – I think it captures the spirit of the underdogs gathering and bonding, stronger for their numbers. I always picture Ruby, Liam, Chubs and Zu in their little van when I hear this!

I Bet My Life – Imagine Dragons

I’ve told a million lies, but now I tell a single truth: there’s you in everything I do.

The lyrics to this song aren’t as completely relevent as some of the others, but I left it in because I think it gets across this complete trust for each other that the main characters have. The friendships are one of the things that makes this series stand out for me, so I wanted to find a song to represent that.

Closer – Noah

You feel so far from me, but your heart is where I need to be.

Of course I had to pop in a song for Ruby and Liam! I picked this one, because I feel like there’s an implied separation, but no lack of love. I’m not going to expand because I’d hate to spoil anyone, but I thought this song was pretty representative of their relationship.

We Are One Tonight – Switchfoot

We’re dreaming out loud / And though the world is flawed, these scars will heal / We are one tonight.

I thought this was the perfect song to finish up this post with! It’s talking about a group of hopeful dreamers in a broken world, but it’s also an anthem. These people aren’t backing down; they believe that things can be better.

The stars are coming out.

That’s all for my picks! If you’ve read the series, I’d love to hear which songs you’d pick to go with it. Do you agree/disagree with my choices?

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day!

~Dani

Leave a Reply

