My Top 5 Literary OTPs

For the uninitiated, ‘OTP’ stands for One True Pairing; this post is basically going to be outlining my five favourite romantic pairings in literature!

  1. Aravis and Shasta from The Horse and His Boy by C.S. Lewis – This is probably an obscure one, because their story is not explicit: we’re told that they fight and make up, and get married “so as to do it more conveniently.” Firstly, that’s hilarious, and secondly really really cute! I love these guys.
  2. Alex and Rosie from Love, Rosie by Cecelia Ahern – Need I say more? If you’ve read this, you know that they are the loveliest, and you can’t help but root for them.
  3. Jane Bennett and Mr Bingley from Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen – I know this isn’t the most popular couple from this book, but these two really are my favourite. There’s none of this impractial ‘proposal in the rain and admitting stuff in really long letters’ drama, just pure cuteness. I would happily read a book just about these guys; I don’t give a toss about the Darcys. (I do really, but I wanted to leave that sentence in because it sounds like I know what I’m talking about.)
  4. Leisel and Rudy from The Book Thief by Markus Zusak – I can’t talk too much about this because of spoilers, so let’s just say they’re so sweet it hurts and leave it at that.
  5. Day and June from Legend by Marie Lu – Again, I can’t say too much, but these two are so perfect (together, not in general) and they just had to go on the list somewhere. They’re opposites in terms of social standing, but their personalities just click. They’re great characters in a really great story.

I’m assuming this is some sort of tag somewhere, so if you fancy taking up the ‘challenge’, consider yourself tagged.

Let me know your favourite pairings – do you agree/disagree with any of my picks?

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day!

~Dani

2 thoughts on “My Top 5 Literary OTPs

  1. I love Jane and Bingley. They have the sweetest, most uncomplicated attraction. Mind you, if they were left to their own devices, they probably would have been sixty or so before they actually got around to admitting their feelings to each other! 😀

Leave a Reply

