Why ‘The Horse and His Boy’ is my Favourite Book in the Narnia Series

The Horse and His Boy

This is often a controversial opinion – I’ve heard people say it’s the worst, that it’s pointless and irrelevant, and that it doesn’t really belong in the series. I disagree! Today I’m going to be outlining a few reasons why I personally think this book the best in the series.

  • It’s not set in Narnia. Okay, I realise this doesn’t make a lot of sense, but hear me out! I loved learning more about the wider world, and especially Archenland. I also loved seeing Narnia through fresh eyes – it makes such a difference to come from somewhere like Tashban, and see the contrast in all its glory.
  • The protagonists are freaking amazing. The recklessly selfless fisherman’s ‘son’ and fiercely loyal Tarkhina are an absolute joy to read about, and I loved getting to know some characters that weren’t English or Narnian. I also love the horses! I think this is a really important book to drive home the fact that in Narnia, talking animals are really equals.
  • It’s full of references to the other books. It’s so much fun! We get to spot plot points from ‘The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe’, and – more excitingly – see them through the eyes of non-locals. I also loved getting to see Mr Tumnus again! It makes my heart happy that they all kept in touch.
  • It’s set during the Golden Age. We get to see a comfortable (and rather plump) Narnia in peace time, but more importantly, we get to see the Pevensie siblings in action as royalty. I love learning a little bit more about their time on the throne(s), and also seeing how they grew up.
  • We get to see LOADS of Aslan. I love Aslan, and his appearances in the book, in my opinion, are the most powerful. I love the breadth in his character that we’re shown here: he’s the secret guard of a tiny baby, the patient cat that comforts a terrified boy, the fierce protector, and the bringer of justice.

That’s all from me – now over to you! Which is your favourite book in the Chronicles of Narnia, and why?

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day!

~Dani

2 thoughts on “Why ‘The Horse and His Boy’ is my Favourite Book in the Narnia Series

  1. Pingback: Month in Books: January 2015 | onlybooksandhorses

Leave a Reply

