Sonnet 55

I’m working on my first university essay, and although it’s pretty hard going, I do get to study two really beautiful sonnets. I feel like the more times I read them, the better they get! I thought I’d share one today – I hope you enjoy reading William Shakespeare’s Sonnet 55!

Not marble, nor the gilded monuments

Of princes, shall outlive this powerful rhyme;

But you shall shine more bright in these contents

Than unswept stone, besmeared with sluttish time.

When wasteful war shall statues overturn,

And broils root out the work of masonry,

Nor Mars his sword nor war’s quick fire shall burn

The living record of your memory.

‘Gainst death and all-oblivious enmity

Shall you pace forth; your praise shall still find room

Even in the eyes of all posterity

That wear this world out to the ending doom.

So, till the judgment that you yourself arise,

You live in this, and dwell in lover’s eyes.

Do you guys have a favourite sonnet you could recommend?

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day!

~Dani

2 thoughts on “Sonnet 55

  1. Lovely sonnet! I’ll be honest, I haven’t read all of Shakespeare’s sonnets yet, but of the ones I have read my favourite would have to be number 130, ‘My mistress’ eyes are nothing like the sun’. It’s such a brilliant comment on the way that poetry of the time tended to idealise the female figures it was about. Number 30, ‘When to the sessions of sweet silent thought’, is wonderful too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

