Clockwork Angel and Poetry: Part 3

For those of you who haven’t read the previous posts, I’m going through Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare and picking out all of the beautiful poems mentioned, for you to read at your leisure.

Without further ado, I present to you: Clockwork Angel and Poetry, Part 3!

The Rubaiayat of Omar Khayyam, translated by Edward FitzGerald – This book is a collection of poems that were originally written in Persian. I really really like this quote:

But helpless Pieces of the Game He plays

Upon this chequer-board of Nights and Days

Hither and thither moves, and checks and slays.

Dolores by Algernon Charles Swinburne – This is another very long poem, but I think the rhyming couplets make it reasonably easy on the brain. I love that this extract almost exactly describes Camille!

Fruits fail and love dies and time ranges;

Thou art fed with perpetual breath,

And alive after infinite change,

And fresh from the kisses of death;

Of langours rekindled and rallied,

Of barren delights and unclean,

Things monstrous and fruitless, a pallid

And poisonous queen.

Maud by Alfred Lord Tennyson – I’ve read so much Tennyson thanks to this little project! It’s great though.

May make my heart as a millstone, set my face

as a flint, Cheat and be cheated, and die: who knows?

we are ashes and dust.

La Belle Dame Sans Merci by John Keats – Title translation: The Beautiful Woman Without Mercy. I really love this narrative poem – I definitely recommend you check it out!

I met a lady in the meads,

Full beautiful – a faery’s child,

Her hair was long, her foot was light,

And her eyes were wild.

King Henry VIII by William Shakespeare – You’ve got to love Shakespeare! I’ve not actually read this play yet, but I love the quote.

We all are men,

In our own natures frail, and capable

Of our flesh; few are angels

And we’re done with Part 3! I’d love to hear what you thought of the poems mentioned, and whether there was anything you hadn’t read before in the list.

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day!

~Dani

Leave a Reply

