Book Haul: University Version

I should probably start by saying that this post is not about textbooks.

I’ve had a few moments when I had some spare time between lectures and thought I’d just ‘browse’ a book shop…ha. Here’s what I’ve added to my collection:

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings

I’ve heard so much about this writer, so when I found this beautiful edition of the first volume of her autobiography, I had to buy it.

Emma by Jane Austen

Emma (JA)

I got this one from a charity shop, and my edition is far uglier than this one. The words are what count though, so I’m looking forward to getting into my third Jane Austen read.

Before I left home, I had to make a decision on which novels I was going to bring with me. I knew I was going to be very busy, so I limited myself to four:

The Memory Keeper’s Daughter by Kim Edwards

The Memory Keeper's Daughter

This was another charity shop find – from what I understand, it’s about a little girl with Down’s syndrome who has been abandoned by her father. It looks like a really moving read, but I’m holding out for  a happy ending.

Death Comes to Pemberley by P.D. James

Death Comes to Pemberley

I finally read Pride and Prejudice, so can move onto this ‘sequel’! I have no idea about the plot other than what the title suggests, but I’m excited to give it a go! From what I’ve read of PD James, I think she’s a great writer and it will be interesting to see what she does with such a well-loved story.

Salmon Fishing in the Yemen by Paul Torday

Salmon Fishing in the Yemen

 

I don’t know anything about this one, except that I’ve heard some really good things about the recent film adaptation. I’m looking forward to going in blind!

The Night of the Mi’raj by Zoe Ferraris

The Night of the Mi'raj

 

Another charity shop find! Isn’t the cover exciting? I’ve actually started reading this one, and it’s shaping up to be a really great mystery novel. It’s set in Saudi Arabia, so there are a lot of cultural rules and barriers that make investigating a murder very difficult, so I’m intrigued to see how everything’s going to play out.

That’s all for this book haul – if you’ve read any of these books, I’d love to hear what you thought (but no spoilers, please!). Are there any that you are interested in picking up?

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day!

~Dani

 

4 thoughts on “Book Haul: University Version

  1. Dani,
    Of the pile of books you picked up, the best one in the lot is I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings. It is a classic for a reason. Maya Angelou had such a unique voice. I believe she wrote this when she was quite young. I read Death At Pemberly and was disappointed. I love PD James mysteries and I like Jane Austen but the two together did not work for me. Emma is worth reading. I like Austen’s social commentary and her characters. I read the Memory Keepers Daughter when it first came out. I remember enjoying it and finding it sweet. The others sound interesting too.

    • I’m so glad to hear that about Maya Angelou! I can’t wait to get stuck in. I think I’ll be bumping it up to the top of the pile.
      That’s the best thing about Jane Austen! I love how cynical she can be 🙂

Leave a Reply

