Review: Love, Rosie – Cecelia Ahern

Love, Rosie – Cecelia Ahern – 5 stars

Love, Rosie

When I realised that almost the entirety of the book was fragmented into letters and emails, I wasn’t sure I’d make it all the way through. As it turns out, I devoured it in a day!

This novel follows the life of Irish girl Rosie. It’s a raw and honest portrayal of her loves and losses, and all of the things that didn’t exactly go to plan. It’s a contemporary romance, but the originality and the willingness to think outside of the box makes this story really special.

Despite the sparsity of description and flowing prose that is necessitated by the structure, I found myself sucked into the story and completely enraptured by the lives of such lovely characters. I rooted for Rosie, Alex, Katie and all the rest as though they were my own friends; that’s how well Ms Ahern pulls off this venture.

What makes this novel so ambitious is that it’s a bildungsroman: it spans over fifty years, and it is easily one of my favourite ‘coming-of-age’ novels. All of the ups and downs of this completely credible life are gripping and well-handled; the plot is sharp and works fantastically. For those of you worried that any poignancy will be lost to the quirky lay-out, I assure you that I literally laughed, cried, and grinned my way through the whole book.

Each character had a unique and believable voice, and the developments and changes were so satisfying. The ending was just perfect. I can’t wait to re-read this book – and I don’t say that often!

Also, I’ve just stumbled across the fact that this is going to be a movie – I’ll link you up to the IMDb page. It’s starring Lily Collins and Sam Claflin, and I am so excited!

If you’ve read this too, let me know what you thought! Are you looking forward to the movie?

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day.

~Dani

4 thoughts on “Review: Love, Rosie – Cecelia Ahern

  1. Pingback: The Sunshine Award | onlybooksandhorses

  2. Pingback: Month in Books: September 2014 | onlybooksandhorses

  3. Pingback: Review: Flawed – Cecelia Ahern | onlybooksandhorses

Leave a Reply

