Clockwork Angel and Poetry Part 1

Clockwork Angel is another Cassandra Clare novel, and is part of the Infernal Devices trilogy (which is one of my all-time favourite YA series!) In this book, there is a quote at the start of each chapter as well as a lot of poetry and literature quoted by the characters. I’ve collected all of the writings alluded to with the exception of any novels; I should warn you that it’s going to take a few posts! Without further ado, here is my compilation of poetry quoted in Clockwork Angel, Part 1.

Thames River Song by Elka Cloke – The book starts with this great poem- written especially for the novel!

the ghost within

vanishes into its coils,

whispering mysteries.

Invictus by William Ernest Henley – Funnily enough, I’ve already written a post raving about this fantastic poem. If you’ve not read it yet (the poem, I mean) then you really should!

And yet the menace of the years

Finds and shall find me unafraid.

Don Juan by Lord Byron – This poem is – in Byron’s own words – an ‘epic satire’ telling the story of Don Juan. Just look at this quote!

Between two worlds life hovers like a star,

‘Twixt night and morn, upon the horizon’s verge.

How little do we know that which we are!

How less what we may be!

Sir Galahad by Alfred Tennyson – Another longer poem, this one is in reference to the legend of King Arthur. It describes Sir Galahad having a vision of the Holy Grail. Had I read it myself, I’m sure I would recommend it. (Ugh, I’m so uncultured!)

My good blade carves the casques of men,

My tough lance thrusteth sure,

My strength is as the strength of ten

Because my heart is pure.

Inferno by Dante – This is the first part of the epic poem ‘Divine Comedy’. It’s about…well, Hell. Allegorically, it depicts Dante’s journey through the Underworld.

It was the hour of morning,
when the sun mounts with those stars
that shone with it when God’s own love
first set in motion those fair things

That’s all for now – what do you think of the list so far? Are you into epic poetry, or do you find it as daunting as I do?

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day!

~Dani

Leave a Reply

