Things I Learned From The Hobbit

I’ve been reading The Hobbit by JRR Tolkein (finally!), and HUGELY enjoying it. I think it’s so much more than a brilliant fantasy novel (although it is that too), so I decided to put together a little list of things I learnt from The Hobbit.

  • If you don’t like the idea of adventure, it’s probably time you went on one.
  • Don’t be afraid to make new friends – and invite them for tea!
  • A spontaneous decision can change your life.
  • Some things are more important than your own comfort.
  • Life starts outside of your comfort zone! (that’s a Neale Donald Walsch quote)
  • A well-read adventurer is a creative adventurer.
  • Take the time to make good friends; you’ll be glad of them when times are tough!
  • Face your dragons with your wits about you and the support of your friends.
  • Sometimes paths are there for your own good!
  • Every individual counts and can make a huge difference.

If you’ve read The Hobbit too, I’d love to hear your thoughts on the book, and what you learned from it. Is there anything you’d add to my list?

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day!

~Dani

7 thoughts on “Things I Learned From The Hobbit

  1. I love, love, love this, such good advice as well, sharing this post now. I read the Hobbit when I was young and again a few years ago, don’t think I got any of these thought from it.

  2. loved this post. My boy read The Hobbit last year and at times he would read it aloud to me. Seeing it through his eyes was what I really enjoyed, the bits that captivated him and the questions he would ask.

  3. Pingback: Month in Books: September 2014 | onlybooksandhorses

  4. Pingback: Book of the Month 2014 Summary | onlybooksandhorses

Leave a Reply

