Month in Books: August 2014

August has been so busy for me, and I have done very little reading. I’ve been travelling and working and…well, you can just see my meagre list for yourself.

The Protector – Danielle Lenee Davis – 5 stars A fantastic murder mystery that I reviewed here. If you like gritty (and lovable) characters, plot twists and witty dialogue, this book is highly recommended!

Jaws – Peter Benchley – 4 stars Gripping and pacy, I’m sure you all know what Jaws is about. I loved everything except the ending.

The Old Man and the Sea – Ernest Hemingway – 3 stars Not my favourite Hemingway story, but definitely an important one for his career. I’m struggling to summarise the plot without directly quoting the rather self-explanatory title – but it’s about fishermen. If you like lovely writing and thoughtful stories you should give this one a try.

The Notebook – Nicholas Sparks – 3 stars I had such high expectations for this romance novel, and it didn’t quite meet them. I did love the characters though, so I’ll definitely look into the movie.

So…3 and a bit novels for August. And as I’m sorting my life out to head to university this month, the reading’s not looking much more hopeful!

Let me know your favourite read of August, and whether you enjoyed any of the books mentioned above.

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day!

~Dani

Leave a Reply

