The Liebster Award

I’ve been nominated for the Liebster Award by Em from Alwaysopinionatedgirl – don’t forget to check out her blog. Thank you so much – I’m really excited to be a part of this!

The basic idea of the Liebster Award is that it comes from one ‘small’ blogger (i.e. 200 followers or less) to another, so we’re supporting each other and letting our readers know what great content we read ourselves.

Here are the instructions:

1. Link & Thank the blogger who nominated you
2. Answer the 11 questions your nominator gives you
3. Tag 11 other bloggers who have 200 or less followers
4. Ask the 11 bloggers you nominated 11 questions and let them know you nominated them!

These are the questions that Em set:

Which fictional character are you most like?

I’m going to go with Skeeter from The Help by Kathryn Stockett. She’s the headstrong writer who is a little awkward in social situations but passionate about justice. Skeeter is what I aim to be like, anyway!

Which fandoms are you in?

In all honesty, I try to steer clear of fandoms just because I don’t know if my emotions can take it! I dabble in the Dr Who, Infernal Devices/Mortal Instruments, Marvel, Disney, Sherlock, and Lord of the Rings fandoms.

What is your favourite book cover?

I don’t know about my favourite, but I definitely have a lot of love for this one.

The One Hundred Year Old Man...

Which 5 books would you take with you to a desert island?

I would take the Bible, Paul Muldoon’s ‘New Weather’ (because you get so much out of it every time), ‘The Shack’ by William P Young, ‘Mr Gum and the Power Crystals’ by Andy Stanton (just for the laughs) and ‘The Book Thief’ by Markus Zusak (for imaginary friend purposes.)

What is your favourite children’s picture book?

This one. Partly because it’s fantastic and partly for nostalgic reasons.

Ladybird Stories for Bedtime

What do you like most and like least about book blogging?

The thing I like most is being prompted write something every day. The thing I like least is…having to write something every day! In all seriousness though, I love interacting with other bloggers and chatting about our mutual interests.

When was the last time you cried reading a book?

In July I read Never Fade by Alexandra Bracken (the second in the Darkest Minds trilogy), and that got pretty emotional.

Which book are you most embarrassed to say you haven’t read?

I’ve never read the Lord of the Rings series. I’ve wanted to for ages, don’t get me wrong, I’m just…busy?

Why and when did you decide to start your blog?

I started my blog just over a year ago for posting the odd review, in the hope of finding like-minded people to connect with. Over the last few months I’ve started putting more effort into the content, and have been producing more posts and interacting with more people.

What are three things about you that not many people know?

a) I am allergic to cats.

b) I play guitar and piano.

c) I love musicals, action songs and traditional African church.

What one book would you recommend I read?

I’d recommend Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. I feel like there’s a lot to get out from it and a lot of adaptations and interpretations you can dig into once you’re done. Also it sounds really cool to say you read Jane Austen.

These are the blogs I tag (and recommend that you check out!):

Amy from Shout Ame Reads

Adira from On the Shelves

Emmie from Another Night of Reading

Fien at Touched by the Page

Casy at Today’s Literature: My Thoughts

Lorna at Suddenlylorna

Bernadette from The Bumbling Bookworm

Majoring in Literature

Jada at My Pleasure to Burn

Liana at Liana Skrzypczak Writing

Annie at Book Hunger

And here are the questions for anyone accepting the award:

1. What was the last book that made you laugh?

2. What amazing book do you think has a horrible cover?

3. When did you start blogging?

4. Do you have a favourite author (or authors)?

5. What’s your favourite movie adaptation of a book?

6. Is there a book that has changed your life, or the way you see the world?

7. Do you have a favourite genre to read?

8. Opinion: should people bend covers and dog-ear pages?

9. Where do you get most of your books?

10. What music (if any) do you listen to while you read?

11. What book will you force upon your kids (whether your kids are hypothetical or real)?

And that’s the Liebster Award! Thanks again for my nomination, and I hope you all enjoy checking out the blogs I mentioned.

Are there any other bloggers you think I should read?

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day!

~Dani

11 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. Pingback: Liebster Award Nomination | Another Night of Reading

  2. Pingback: Liebster Award | (majoring in literature)

  3. Pingback: Wednesday's Weekly Wrap-Up {14} - The Bumbling Bookworm

Leave a Reply

