Books that Made Me Cry

I’ve narrowed down my list to ‘5 books that made me cry the most’, just because a less specific list was going to be a bit lengthy! This isn’t so much a list of books that are hugely sad; rather a list of books that I connected with strongly on an emotional level. In short: if you haven’t read any of these books, consider this a recommendation!

Private Peaceful – Michael Morpurgo Set in World War 1, the story follows two brothers who go through loss, pain and love together. A really fantastic book.

Kensuke’s Kingdom – Michael Morpurgo In which a ship-wrecked boy finds himself on an island that is inhabited solely by an elderly man who doesn’t really speak English. I thought it was better than the Life of Pi, but that may be just me!

The Fault in Our Stars – John Green I think we all knew this book would be on the list.

The Book Thief – Markus Zusak I know I’ve talked about this one a lot…but it’s so wonderful! Set in Nazi Germany, the story follows a little girl called Leisel as she grows up in the political turmoil and finds her feet with her adoptive parents.

The Knife of Never Letting Go and Monsters of Men – Patrick Ness These are the first and third installations of the Chaos Walking trilogy. It’s a crazily original and creative post-apocalyptic/sci-fi series written with all the sensitivity and understanding of nuanced humanity that I’d come not to expect from the genre. It’s YA, but I’d recommend it for adult-lit readers too.

So tell me – what books make you cry? Is there anything on this list you’ve loved, or something you’ve yet to read?

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day!

~Dani

5 thoughts on “Books that Made Me Cry

Leave a Reply

