Social Networks Book Tag

Just in case you’re not aware, BookTube is the little corner of YouTube where people create videos and channels completely related to books. A popular feature of these videos is ‘tags’, so I thought I’d translate a few onto my blog, as a fun way to share some different books.

Today’s tag was originally created by faultydevices, and is made up of questions based around a few social networking sites.

Twitter: A book you want to share with the world

My choice for this one has to be one of Markus Zusak’s lesser known novels: I am the Messenger. It’s a contemporary and is – in a way – maturer than the Book Thief, but it’s just as fantastic (and a little shorter!).

I Am the Messenger

Facebook: A book you really enjoyed that was recommended to you by someone else

Christopher Paolini’s Eragon! I’d already seen the movie, but was a little put off by the size of the book. It wasn’t until my friend literally pressed her copy of the book into my hands that I got down to reading it – and it was completely worth it! A juicy fantasy series that is both thoughtful and action-packed.

Eragon

Tumblr: A book you haven’t raved much about on your [blog]

I really enjoyed The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness, although I’m pretty sure I’ve yet to mention it here. It’s a YA post-apocalyptic novel that is mind-blowingly creative and incredibly powerful.

The Knife of Never Letting Go

MySpace: A book you don’t plan on re-reading

Hmm…there are quite a few! I read The Alchemist by Paolo Coelho and really didn’t enjoy it. I found the story a little lame, and wasn’t feeling the philosophy. That’s not to say it’s a bad book; just that it definitely wasn’t for me.

The Alchemist

Instagram: A book with a gorgeous, picture-worthy cover

I love my copy of Breakfast with the Nikolides by Rumer Godden – just look at those colours! This one’s about a European family moving to India, and how they adapt.

Breakfast with the Nikolides

YouTube: A book you wish could be made into a movie

Again, there are a few! I’m going to go with Obsessed by Ted Dekker, just because I think it’s so original and has the potential to be really screen-friendly. It’s the story of an American Jew who is called back to Europe to re-discover his past. (I realise that synopsis doesn’t make it sound very original – you’ll just have to trust me on this one!)

Obsessed (TD)

Skype: A book with characters you wish you could talk to instead of just read about

My pick is going to be The Infernal Devices trilogy by Cassandra Clare. This is historical fiction mixed with urban fantasy, but for me it was the characters that made these books shine.

Clockwork Angel

And that’s my first tag! If you’ve read any of the books I mentioned, let me know your thoughts! f you fancy doing the tag too (or have already done it) feel free to link your post, I’d love to read it.

Would you have chosen similar books to answer these questions, or do you disagree completely?

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day!

~Dani

Leave a Reply

