Month in Books: May 2014

Here’s May’s wrap-up. We’re catching up!

Attachments – Rainbow Rowell – 4 stars This little romance, set at the dawn of the internet, is cute and hilarious and 100% gripping. Rainbow writes such winning characters and the plot is lovely.

Allegiant – Veronica Roth – 3 stars The third and final book in the Divergent trilogy. A big finale that completely rips your heart out. It took me a while to get to grips with the pacing, though.

I Am Legend – Richard Matheson – 5 stars Now THIS is a vampire novel! Also a movie starring Will Smith, this is the story of the last (known) human left in a world being taken over by people suffering from the illness…that turns them into vampires. Fantastic book!

Things Fall Apart – Chinua Achebe – 3 stars Set in a fictional Nigerian tribe, Achebe introduces us to a completely different way of life. The story is set around the time Western influences start seeping in, so it makes for a very harrowing read.

Rebel Belle – Rachel Hawkins – 4 stars I kind of hated myself for liking this so much. It’s an urban fantasy/romance YA novel that is quick and funny and cute. Oh alright, I recommend it.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower – Stephen Chbosky – 5 stars This is such a great book! (and movie, with Emma Watson and Logan Lerman, directed by the author himself) Follow main character Charlie as he works through his loves and losses during his high school years. Beautifully told and such great characters!

The Great Gatsby – F. Scott Fitzgerald – 5 stars This was my Book of the Month! I loved this classic (and yes, there’s a movie with Leo DiCaprio) for its accessibility, timeless relevance and gorgeous characters.

I’d Tell You I Love You But Then I’d Have To Kill You – Ally Carter – 2 stars Follow a member of an all-girls spy school who speaks 12 languages and yet resorts to ‘OMG’ to express her feelings. I mean, it’s cute and fun and I’m sure it’s somebody’s thing…it just wasn’t for me.

As The Crow Flies – Damien Boyd – 4 stars I reviewed this here! A crime novel with a rock-climbing backdrop, this story will whisk you away and surprise you throughout.

Mr Gum and the Dancing Bear – Andy Stanton – 4 stars While not my favourite Mr Gum book, this one is still fantastic. Lovely illustrations and hilarious text, it’s a children’s novel that is suitable for anyone. I laugh out loud every time.

A House Somewhere – Don George, Anthony Sattin – 2 stars A collection of extracts from travel writings. I’m sure many people will love this book, but it bored me a little! Probably part of the problem was the fact that I had to study it for school.

A Game of Thrones – George R. R. Martin – 5 stars This book is so long! And yet…worth it. This epic high fantasy has a mind-blowing scope. It’s told from lots of character’s points of view, but Mr Martin makes it all work, juggling threads of stories masterfully.

 

So that was May! If you liked the sound of any of those books, or have read them, let me know! I’m always open to recommendations, too!

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day.

~Dani

2 thoughts on “Month in Books: May 2014

  1. So many on this list I’ve been meaning to get to, of the ones I have read our ratings are pretty similar, so I’m going to have to go bump all of these up my TBR list!

Leave a Reply

