My Favourite Film Adaptations of Children’s Books

  1. How to Train Your Dragon (Cressida Cowell) Possibly the best animated movie ever made. It’s funny and cute and touching and beautiful and just everything you could ever want. The John Powell score is gorgeous, and the actors are fantastic. Just…it’s all so perfect. 
  2. Horton Hears a Who (Dr Seuss) This animated movie is one of my all-time favourites! It’s touching and funny and imaginative, which I think is pretty true to the book. Lovable elephant (Jim Carrey) discovers a town of little people living on a speck, and has to find a way to save them all. It ends in a musical number, which is always good.
  3. The Lorax (Dr Seuss) More Dr Seuss! In a way, I like this one more than Horton Hears a Who just because it’s a musical. Everything is better as a musical, am I wrong? In a Dystopian world where nothing natural grows, Ted (Zac Efron) discovers the last tree and endeavours to ‘re-grow’ the world. SUCH a good film.
  4. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe [The Chronicles of Narnia #1] (C.S. Lewis) The reason this movie is so low down on the list is that the sequels were disappointing. This first one was great, though; I thought they did a great job of imagining the world and adapting the story onto the big screen.

What have I missed? Do you agree with the films on my list?

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day!

~Dani

2 thoughts on “My Favourite Film Adaptations of Children’s Books

  1. Yes, totally! I totally loved the transformation of these books. Most of these lived up to the book, maybe even surpassed it! And yes, I love the score for How to Train Your Dragon.

Leave a Reply

