Review: The Twits – Roald Dahl

The Twits – Roald Dahl – 4 stars

The Twits

I feel like this is one of those books most people read in their childhoods…but not me! I found an audiobook version, which meant I missed out on Quentin Blake’s illustrations, but got to enjoy James Murphy‘s fantastic performance.

Like all the other Dahl books I’ve read, this one is wickedly humourous and is full of the childlike fascination with the gruesome that we’d expect.

The plot follows two revolting elderly people – Mr and Mrs Twit – in a battle of cruel pranks. It’s when they begin to direct their cruelness outwards that they are taught their lesson.

This is such a fun story, although I don’t feel like I would ever read it to a young child!

4 stars for another quirky and creative Roald Dahl book.

If you’ve read this, I’d love to hear your thoughts! Do you still read children’s literature?

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day!

~Dani

Leave a Reply

