Month in Books: March 2014

Here’s March’s wrap-up! (I’m slowly getting up to date with these posts…SLOWLY)

Sherlock Holmes: The Adventure of the Six Napoleons – Sir Arthur Conan Doyle – 3 stars This is a short story in which Mr Holmes solves crimes and rights wrongs. I usually really love Sherlock Holmes stories, but I felt like this one was very predictable. It’s short though, so worth it!

Twelfth Night – William Shakespeare – 5 stars The inspiration for ‘She’s the Man’, this brilliant play is genuinely funny and rich and lovely. One of my favourite Shakespeare plays.

Heart to Heart – Ali Martin & Liza Hoeksma – 4 stars Non-fiction talking about the health of the metaphorical heart. It was hard to rate this, because the content and graphology were definite 5 star material, while the writing itself was…not. Worth a read though!

Cinder – Marissa Meyer – 3 stars This YA sci-fi fairytale retelling is clever and exciting, but didn’t quite live up to my high expectations.

The Life of Timon of Athens – William Shakespeare- 2 stars More Shakespeare, I know. After Twelfth Night, I was really disappointed by this one; I didn’t really connect with the plot or characters. The writing is as beautiful as always, but this play just wasn’t for me.

Farenheit 451 – Ray Bradbury – 5 stars This dystopian depicts a future where literature is completely absent. The lovely writing and winning characters made this my favourite book of the month…I didn’t write a post for it though!

What Did Jesus Really Mean When He Said Follow Me? – David Platt – 5 stars I feel like the title is self-explanatory. This book is short, free and very practical.

A Cat, a Hat and a Piece of String – Joanne Harris – 3 stars This is a collection of short stories. Most of these are sweet and lovely, but I didn’t enjoy it as much as some of her other work.

Paroles – Jacques Prevert – 4 stars An anthology of French surrealist poetry. If you’re not a francophone this is maybe not for you, but do check out some of the musical adaptations!

Champion – Marie Lu – 4 stars The final instalment of YA dystopian trilogy ‘Legend’ is completely heart-breaking. Don’t read it if you’re emotionally unstable. Great story, though.

And that’s it! I didn’t exactly write any reviews for this month – oops!

If you’ve read/would like to read any of these titles, let me know! And as always, I’m open to recommendations.

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day!

~Dani

Leave a Reply

