Review: Twilight’s Indian Princess – Margaret Jean Langstaff

I received this book as part of Rosie Amber‘s Book Review Team.

Twilight’s Indian Princess: Book 1 – Margaret Jean Langstaff – 4 stars

Twilight's Indian Princess

Okay, what just happened?

This is forty pages of pure psychological weirdness. Not plot-oriented, no real character back-story, and no real relational development (unless you count the potato scene, which I’m not sure I do.)

And yet…Ms Langstaff pulls all of these things together with an absolutely gorgeous writing style that is rich and full, and that you can really get your teeth into. Whatever crazy things happen in the narrator’s brain become completely rational to read about simply because this woman writes with such confidence and flair. And in the end, the things we might want more of from an instalment of a novel like this aren’t even necessary, because – and I’ll say this again – Margaret is a great writer.

Her protagonist, Sarah, is believable, easy to relate to and subtly funny. Sarah’s children came across beautifully in their letters, and it was really special to watch this author switch easily into different voices.

This book was, overall, a really fun read; short but juicy, and effortlessly humourous. It was enjoyable, and I would definitely recommend it.

That’s a four star rating for Margaret and ‘Twilight’s Indian Princess’, mostly because of my deep respect for her being able to pull something like this off.

If you’ve read this too, I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day.

~Dani

9 thoughts on “Review: Twilight’s Indian Princess – Margaret Jean Langstaff

  1. Thank you. Wait! You are a teenager? And you can write articulate, nuanced, penetrating reviews (like this)? Ah, but you are British. That explains it. I am in my heart and soul a Brit. Girl, I want to get to know you better. Where did you go to school? What is the curriculum? Heavens, you are a meteor, a comet, a streak of light across the dark sky of the current literary landscape. I hope you are writing your own creative fully imagined fiction and poetry. I’d place a big bet on it, that it would amount to something.

    • Wow, thank you for your comment! I’m afraid I don’t study anywhere exciting – a little village school which follows your average A level curriculum (not sure what the American equivalent would be – maybe finals?) And yes, I love writing fiction! Next year I’m off to university to study English lit and creative writing 🙂

  2. I hope you don’t mind, but I re-blogged this to demonstrate the seemingly native superiority of the spawn of the “Mother Country” to us in the wondrous land of language. If you are truly representative, the fluency and precision of your generation in your country trumps and trounces the pedestrian plodding blather of contemporary adolescent American “Kids” in spades. Shakespeare lives in your veins. Do something with it.

  3. Pingback: Rosie’s Book Review Team – A review from Dani | Rosie Amber

Leave a Reply

