Stories to Songs: It’s Time – Jamie McDell

It’s Time by Jamie McDell

based on The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Jamie McDell is one of my favourite YouTube singer/songwriters, so I wanted to share this gorgeous song, despite it making two out of four ‘Stories to Songs’ posts based on John Green’s ‘The Fault in Our Stars’.

This video in particular is really beautifully put together with clips from the movie trailer, and even tastefully inserted audio.

I think Jamie’s voice suits this song perfectly, and I love that it complimented the book without wrestling lots of direct quotes into the lyrics.

She’s also written songs based on other YA books, so her channel is worth checking out.

Are there any other songs based on books that you would recommend?

On a side note, I went to see the film adaptation last night. I honestly thought it was done perfectly – I loved the casting choices! What were your thoughts on the movie? Did you think it did the book justice? I actually thought the movie was on par with the novel!

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day!

~Dani

Leave a Reply

