Everything is Illuminated (in quotes)

I read ‘Everything is Illuminated’ by Jonathan Safran Foer! I had such high expectations for this book after loving the movie adaptation (starring Elijah Wood, and featuring some fantastic music by Paul Cantelon). While it didn’t quite live up to what I’d hoped it would be, it was a good book packed with some really beautiful/interesting/profound quotes. I chose a few of my favourites to share today (that’s not to say I necessarily agree with all of them; I like that they make you think). Enjoy!

  • “The only thing worse than being sad is for others to know you are sad.” (p47)
  • “Humourous is the only truthful way to tell a sad story.” (p53)
  • “Love me, because love doesn’t exist, and I’ve tried everything that does.” (p82)
  • “This is love, isn’t it? When you notice someone’s absence and hate that absence more than anything? More, even, than you love his presence?” (p121)
  • “They had never known the deepest intimacy, that closeness attainable only with distance.” (p134)
  • “This […] would remind her of […] the hole she was learning is not the exception in life, but the rule. The hole is no void; the void exists around it.” (p139)
  • “The more you love someone, the harder it is to tell them.” (p234)
  • “Every love is carved from loss […] but we learn to live in that love.” (p266)
  • “The beginning of the world often comes.” (p267)

If you’ve read this, I’d love to know what you thought. How did you think it compared to the movie? Have I missed any of your favourite quotes?

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day!

~Dani

One thought on “Everything is Illuminated (in quotes)

Leave a Reply

