Book of the Month: April 2014

Observant readers may notice that I completely skipped the ‘Book of the Month’ for March. Here is my explanation: while I did read some really interesting books, my favourite ended up being Farenheit 451 (Ray Bradbury). I genuinely enjoyed it, but it didn’t inspire in me the passion that my other ‘Book of the Month’ nominees did, so I decided not to dedicate an entire post to it. It’s still a very much recommended read, though!

Book of the Month April 2014: Gone Girl – Gillian Flynn – 5 stars

So many people rave about this book! In fact, I’m probably a little late jumping on the band-wagon. Despite all the hype, I wasn’t expecting what I encountered upon opening this book.

Gone Girl is dark, psychological and brilliant. It is gripping and unabashedly twisted and quite unlike everything else I’ve read this year. It’s also one of the few books I think really deserves the massive build-up and publicity it receives.

The characters are gritty and convincing, the writing style confident and fluid, and the plot twists uncomfortable (in the best way possible) and, well, twisted.

(On a side note, please can we ignore the excessive, extortionate, unnecessary use of triadic structure in this post? Thanks.)

Gone Girl also happens to be one of those books that are dangerously easy to trip you into giving other people spoilers, so I’m going to leave the summary at that. Do give this a go though; Gillian Flynn is a brilliant writer.

If you’ve read this too, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Thanks for reading and have a lovely day!

~Dani

2 thoughts on “Book of the Month: April 2014

  1. Pingback: Month in Books: April 2014 | onlybooksandhorses

  2. Pingback: Book of the Month 2014 Summary | onlybooksandhorses

Leave a Reply

