Book of the Month: February 2014

February was such a good reading month for me! I got through 11 novels including Vicious (V.E. Schwab), To Kill a Mockingbird (Harper Lee) and Jurassic Park (Michael Crichton). You can imagine it was a really difficult decision to pick a favourite! As I neared the end of the month though, I knew this had to be the one:

I Am The Messenger – Markus Zusak

Now, I had already read the Book Thief, so I was expecting great things. Luckily, I was not disappointed.

The story is told from the perspective of nineteen-year-old Ed, who leads something of a dead-end life. A person of unknown identity and intent stages an intervention, forcing him to start doing very specific acts of kindness and charity around the town. (I am aware that this synopsis makes the book sound lame at best, but trust me on this one!)

The writing (of course) is simultaneously beautiful and character appropriate; and the story really does pack the same deep emotional ‘punch’ that the Book Thief does, just without the perpetual crying. It’s just so wise and candid, with a hefty dose of inspiration thrown in there.

I feel like this book is more than a little underrated, and this review probably hasn’t helped! I think it’s one of those books you have to read to understand the genius of.

 

If you’ve read this too, I’d love to know your thoughts, and if you haven’t…you know what to do!

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day.

~Dani

2 thoughts on “Book of the Month: February 2014

  1. Pingback: Book of the Month 2014 Summary | onlybooksandhorses

  2. Pingback: Read the World: Australia | onlybooksandhorses

Leave a Reply

