Book of the month: January 2014

I’ve decided to start writing ‘Book of the Month’! This basically means that every month I come across a book that I don’t think I could possibly say anything at all balanced or objective about due to an all-consuming love for it, it gets a little shout-out.

Given, it is a little late to be writing about January, but I couldn’t bear to pass this book by!

The Help – Kathryn Stockett

This book, though.

The plot centres around the lives of three women in 1960’s Jackson, Mississippi. The author, through first person narrative, takes us by the hand and shows us, with raw candor and a tender writing style, the struggles, the giggles, and the pure strength of the profoundly lovable characters.

I went into this book having seen (and loved) the movie, expecting to be a little disappointed. I couldn’t have been more wrong: the story left me reeling. I felt the love and the hurt of all the characters so deeply, and Ms. Stockett’s writing from all three perspectives was – to my mind – flawless.

I think what was so special about this book was the way it was highlighting a troubled time in history, but avoided – as many other books fail to – manipulating readers’ emotions with an overly dramatic event. The poignancy was derived from a simple honesty that made the whole book not only fantastic, but a favourite of mine.

 

If you haven’t read this already…I think you need to!

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day.

~Dani

2 thoughts on “Book of the month: January 2014

  1. Pingback: Month in Books: January 2014 | onlybooksandhorses

  2. Pingback: Book of the Month 2014 Summary | onlybooksandhorses

Leave a Reply

